Equality and Diversity

Our Faculty understands itself as highly inclusive and welcomes diversity. Together with the University, it tries to offer support at all levels, from outreach to careers advice to welfare and disability services. Staff and students in need of advice or guidance are welcome to contact:

Harassment Officers:

Zeynep Yürekli

Chris Mitchell

Sahba Shayani

Equality and Diversity Officer:

Richard Parkinson

Disability Contact:

Thomas Hall

Early Career Researcher Champion:

Judith Schlanger (MT), Martin Goodman (HT/TT)

Early Career Researcher Contact:

Paul Wordsworth

Director of Outreach:

Bo Hu

Undergraduate Student Reps:

Ailsa Brown (ailsa.brown@pmb.ox.ac.uk)

Naomi Richter (naomi.richter@wadham.ox.ac.uk)

Jessica Hindle (jessica.hindle@hertford.ox.ac.uk)

Yuling Wu (yuling.wu@balliol.ox.ac.uk)

Rosabel Thorne (rosabel.thorne@wadham.ox.ac.uk)

Graduate Student Reps:

Victoria Bianchi

Shree Nahata

Cerise Jackson

Ruthanne Brooks

Adam Abdalla

Graduate student representatives can be contacted on gradrep@orinst.ox.ac.uk.

Please see the Oriental Studies Faculty Statement of Values.

As noted in its statement of values, the Faculty is committed to celebrating the diversity of the language and cultures that are the heart of its work, even though many European academic disciplines originated in periods of colonialist oppression.  

If anyone has any questions or concerns about aspects of equality and diversity in the academic curriculum, they are encouraged to discuss these directly with their teachers, or to pass their thoughts to the relevant subject group EDI representative and the EDI officer. We can then pass these to the relevant subject group so that they can be addressed there (this can be done anonymously and in confidence if that is preferred).

Please feel free to contact:

Equality and Diversity Officer: Richard Bruce Parkinson (richard.parkinson@orinst.ox.ac.uk)

Subject group Equality and Diversity representatives: 

Arabic, Persian, and Turkish: Sahba Shayani (sahba.shayani@orinst.ox.ac.uk)   

Chinese Studies: Robert Chard (robert.chard@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Egyptology and Ancient Near Eastern Studies: Elizabeth Frood (elizabeth.frood@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Hebrew, Jewish, and Eastern Christianity: Zoe Waxman (zoe.waxman@orinst.ox.ac.uk

Inner and South Asia (India and Tibet): Christopher Fleming (christopher.fleming@orinst.ox.ac.uk )  

Japanese and Korean:  Linda Flores (until end of HT) (linda.flores@orinst.ox.ac.uk)  

Information about the different services and support the University provides can found below:

The Oxford University Equality and Diversity Unit has a wide range of information available on their webpages.

There is advice and guidance for staff and students on LGBTQ+ issues here, and a list of Stonewall LGBTQ+ Role Models, one of which is an academic member of staff based in the Faculty of Oriental Studies, can be found here.

The Disability Advisory Service provides information, advice and support on disability issues. For access guides to the Faculty of Oriental Studies buildings, please see the University Access Guide. This map also includes details on Examination Schools and many colleges.

Student Welfare and Support Services works collaboratively on student health and welfare issues with colleagues in colleges, academic and administrative departments, the Oxford University Student Union, and key statutory services and other partners outside of the University.